Fyp(1) - Devlog: #1

Fyp(1) - Devlog: #1

ยท

5 min read

Hi there! I am back with a new log to continue writing about my journey with the FYP project. Based on the previous log, I have mentioned a little bit about the project that I will be doing which is an Emotion Detection System Based on Text. Many things happened during the gap between the Intro log and Log #1 (This log).

Progress โ†—

1. Named my project

The title of my project which is "Emotion Detection System Based on Text" is quite a mouthful. To be honest, mentioning this title over and over again in multiple places like proposals, reports, meetings, and blogs can be a bit tiresome. So, I brainstormed, searched, and tried several names. I didn't want to name my project as something general and wanted it to be somewhat unique. After much time spent on deciding a name, I ended up with............(drumroll ๐Ÿฅ)............ "Emos". Short and sweet ๐Ÿ˜...

2. Created and Submitted PID

One of the first documents required for the FYP is the Project Initiation Document (PID) which is basically a document that gives an overview of the project. It's a simple document about the project, just to get the know the student and the project proposed. In this document, I had to write the general idea of the project such as the aim, rationale, challenges, type of product, and the resources needed to develop the product. I think having this kind of structured information is pretty useful to keep things organized and also to get a clearer picture of the project ๐Ÿ‘€. That's because we are trying to view the important parts of a project such as the purpose, resources, and challenges.

3. Define

The next progress I have made is to define the general idea and also the potential users. The general idea is to detect, classify, track and visualize users' emotions. The potential users as of now would be the patients (general users) and doctors as mentioned in the Intro Log. Defining a project is super important to understand the purpose of developing the project in the first place. As a student and an observer, I have learned that the definition of something is the first and most crucial thing that one must understand before delving into a topic. Without definition, the foundation to the particular topic, or in this case the project will end up vague, confusing, and often times off course ๐Ÿ˜ต.

4. Research on Existing Systems

After the Define stage, I went on searching for similar apps related to Emos. Although I have searched and tried many apps/systems previously, I never really document anything. I was merely trying out the apps for fun ๐Ÿ˜‚. However, this time, I analyzed, researched, and documented my experience and findings with those systems. Again, I used Microsoft Excel to dump my findings because I like the unlimited space it has compared to Microsoft Word or PowerPoint. I structured my spreadsheet by having multiple sheets to categorize Web Systems, Mobile Systems, Other Systems, and also my Analysis. Just to give some numbers, I reviewed 3 Web Systems, 7 Mobiles Systems, and 1 Other systems. So, that's 11 systems! ๐Ÿ˜ฑ Surprisingly, there are more mobile apps related to my idea as compared to web apps. Although there were quite a number of web apps for mental health, there is only a handful related to my context. In this stage, I jot down things like principles, technologies, concepts, features, pros, cons, and relevance of the system. This helped me to venture into the features and functionalities of the various apps like Emos.

5. Listed out potential features and functionalities

Once the research on the existing systems is completed, I analyzed my findings to see which system is closer to Emos and what features I am most likely going to implement in my project. Since my project involves 2 main components which are the Journaling elements and the Emotion Classifier, my supervisor reminded me to put more focus on the Emotion Classifier part (though both are equally important). This is because the core of my system is the emotion classifier and when the core is lousy, then the whole system would be meaningless. Therefore, to ensure I can balance up the workload, I decided to include only important features to demonstrate the potential of my project. Those features include mood entry, mood visualization, mood summary, and the classifier. The first 3 features are related to the Journal elements whereas the last feature is the machine learning (..or deep learning) part.

That's pretty much the progress I've made thus far... During the weekly meeting with my supervisor, we discussed my findings and shared ideas. It was a fun and fruitful session I would say.

What's Next? ๐Ÿค”

The next thing that I will be doing from here on is to begin writing my proposal. So, like most projects, the proposal is important to provide an idea of the proposed project and make the readers understand the project beforehand. This proposal would be contributing marks for my FYP which means I would need to focus on it as well to ensure I get maximum marks as possible ๐Ÿ˜‚. Welp, that all I have for now... Thank you for reading through my log although you could be doing other things right now (...like playing Mobile Legends, walking your dog, playing with your cat, etc... ๐Ÿคฃ). I hope to write more fun and meaningful content soon as I progress with Emos and just share my FYP journey with you... Till next time, bye...

ย