FYP(2) - Devlog: #2

FYP(2) - Devlog: #2

ยท

3 min read

Hello fellow readers... After quite a long hiatus and not being able to follow up my log for this blog, I am finally able to find some time to update my FYP progress... ๐Ÿ˜„ I'm currently in my second last semester before going off for internship (next semester) and my previous semester was pretty hectic. I couldn't find the perfect time to organize my thoughts for the blog and had to prioritize my courses first. Anyways, the main deliverable for FYP(1) in the previous semester was just the proposal. So, there is not much going on for FYP during that phase besides a bunch of reading, researching, and proposal writing. Hence, this semester which is the second phase of the FYP or FYP(2) is going to be much more interesting. I am also expecting roller coaster rides during this phase which makes me kind of nervous just thinking about it ๐Ÿค”...

Updates

As mentioned previously, I have completed my proposal documentation and even got approval from both my supervisor and second marker to proceed with the project. So, now I am ready to officially start developing EMOS... ๐ŸŽ‰

Proposal Presentation

I remember I was quite nervous before the proposal presentation even when I was already familiar with both of my lecturers ๐Ÿฅถ. However, with much encouragement and hope given by my supervisor, I was able to do well in the presentation. I felt excited throughout the session because the project that I proposed was something I was interested to work on as well. I felt confident and passionate when talking about EMOS as I have put so much effort into this project. I was glad that my supervisor and second marker find the idea interesting as well ๐Ÿ˜. The main feedback or question thrown to me was "How am I planning to deal with emotional uncertainties such as sarcasm in users' input text...".

To be honest, I was already expecting this question and I was prepared for it because as I was researching, one problem often brought up by researchers was difficulties in identifying the true emotional context behind complicated sentence structures that result in ambiguities and uncertainties. Sarcasm is a complicated case to deal with when it comes to emotion detection because sarcasm involves a combination of emotions. When you think about it, sarcasm usually involves polar opposite emotions such as Joy-and-Anger or even Joy-and-Disgust. Sometimes, sarcasm is also contexts that may sound surreal or 'too good to be true'... With all these considerations in mind, I somehow managed to handle the question smoothly ๐Ÿ˜….

Designing

Before the project development, I took some time to work on the design aspects of the system. I could go in-depth on the design process of EMOS but that would be a little too long for the little time I have at the moment. I will definitely explain the design process of EMOS someday and maybe do a UIUX Case Study about it ๐Ÿค”.

Development

Now, I am in the development phase of EMOS. To briefly go through the development phase, I have created the Login/Register Modules, Dashboard Interface, and User Entry Modules. Currently, I am focusing on the development of the Emotion Classifier by experimenting with Machine Learning and Deep Learning models. The idea here is basically to choose the model with the highest accuracy to be integrated with the system. Once that is done, I will be working on the Visualization modules as the final integration of the whole system. I am planning to write more on the development phase as well in future blogs by explaining in-depth steps of how I developed the entire system and the concepts that are involved in EMOS.

To Wrap Up...

That's all I have to update for now. I hope to write more detailed content with examples and pictures in the coming blogs. Till then, thank you for sticking through my stories and reading through my blog. See you in the next log... ๐Ÿ˜€

ย